# Siemon: base-8 against base-12 fiber cabling

> Manufacturer comparison dated October 8, 2024. Establishes the two fiber increments as counts on a 24-fiber trunk: base-8 is three MPO connectors of eight fibers each, base-12 is two connectors of twelve, and base-8 uses every fiber in the connector so that one system serves both duplex and parallel optics. It does not state how many duplex ports a cassette presents in either system; the guide derives that by division and says so. Checked September 16, 2026.

Canonical page: https://datacenterlabeling.com/references/s75

Original source: [Siemon: base-8 against base-12 fiber cabling](https://www.siemon.com/en/base-8-vs-base-12-which-fiber-cabling-system-is-right-for-you/)

## Scope of this source

Manufacturer comparison dated October 8, 2024. Establishes the two fiber increments as counts on a 24-fiber trunk: base-8 is three MPO connectors of eight fibers each, base-12 is two connectors of twelve, and base-8 uses every fiber in the connector so that one system serves both duplex and parallel optics. It does not state how many duplex ports a cassette presents in either system; the guide derives that by division and says so. Checked September 16, 2026.

Cited for the fiber counts that define each increment. The suitability comparison is the manufacturer’s own position on its products and is not carried here as a recommendation.

Rackstamp provides editorial field guidance. IDs, cases, and worksheet entries are fictional examples unless identified otherwise. Distinguish local conventions from adopted standards. Source notes describe the evidence scope; a linked overview is not the full standard or a project approval.

## Related guidance

- [Fiber trunks and breakout legs are ambiguous](https://datacenterlabeling.com/problems/fiber-trunk-breakout-map)
