Rackstamp, data center labeling field guide

REFERENCE DESK / 78 SOURCES

Know what your guidance rests on.

Publisher information, manufacturer instructions, and original recordkeeping workflows each have a different role.

Reference desk

Editions and applicability

Use references to understand where a guide's technical basis comes from and where that guidance applies. A naming example is a suggested local convention unless a source explicitly identifies it as a requirement.

Standards and scope

Read the edition specified for your project. Public overviews explain scope, but may omit the detailed conditions in the full standard. Follow the publisher's authorized access route for the complete text.

Government requirements

Check the stated jurisdiction and applicability. A US workplace provision should not be presented as a worldwide rule. Keep safety marking and electrical work requirements distinct from ordinary asset identification.

Manufacturer instructions

Match the document to the installed equipment, label material, printer, and revision. A placement dimension or color scheme for one product is not automatically appropriate for another.

Operator and record-system examples

Use these to understand ownership boundaries, data fields, and review workflows. An operator's acceptance specification or a software record model does not prescribe every site's policy.

TIA's official notice dated June 19, 2026 describes TIA-606-E in recirculation ballot and public review. This content package does not claim a later publication was verified. TIA's TIA-942 overview lists Revision C, published May 2024. Confirm the project-specified edition when issuing a labeling specification.

TIA-606-E recirculation ballot notice ↗ · TIA-942 official overview ↗

The guides combine short source-supported facts with original identification workflows and fictional examples. Example values are not evidence of a real installation. Manufacturer and operator material supports specific practices; it does not establish universal compatibility, measured problem frequency, or guaranteed availability gains.

Source library

  • S01TIA FOTC: TIA-606-D scope

    Public scope overview; local patterns and review workflow are editorial examples, not normative syntax. Re-read on September 16, 2026: establishes the October 2021 publication, the four administration classes, and coverage of identifiers, labels, records, linkages and reporting, with identification of patch cords, equipment cords and direct equipment-to-equipment cables treated as an annex topic. It establishes no label placement distance. Checked September 16, 2026.

    Source checked: 2026-09-16 · Guides 01, 06, 07, 19, 33

  • S02ServiceNow: Identification and reconciliation configuration

    Record identification and update-authority principles; does not prescribe physical relabeling.

    Source review date not recorded · Guides 01, 02, 18, 26

  • S03Panduit: Infrastructure identification guide

    July 2014 historical rack-location examples; not current standards authority.

    Source checked: 2026-09-12 · Guides 01, 03, 14

  • S04NetBox: Device model

    Product-specific face and position semantics; local elevation translation is editorial guidance.

    Source checked: 2026-09-16 · Guides 01, 04, 05

  • S05Corning: Labeling and documentation

    January 2015 historical local/remote label examples; does not authorize service interruption.

    Source review date not recorded · Guides 06

  • S06Brother: Patch Panel mode

    Model-specific block length, block count and layout controls. Panel dimensions must be measured separately. Checked October 2, 2026.

    Source checked: 2026-10-02 · Guides 07

  • S07Corning: EDGE procedure

    Corning EDGE procedure S46998-A0007-P146, Issue 1, §§5.1–5.2, pages 19–23. Cover says December 2021; interior recordkeeping pages say February 2022. Equipment-specific hierarchy examples; mapping does not establish polarity.

    Source checked: 2026-09-12 · Guides 08

  • S08Panduit: Cable labeling catalog

    Marker capabilities are product-specific; proposed sample review makes no universal fit claim. Re-read in full on September 16, 2026. The Turn-Tell table lists, for each part, a width, a length, a print-on area height and a minimum and maximum cable outside diameter, together with the wire and cable size range it is listed for, and lists several widths for each diameter range, from 0.50 to 2.00 inches. The self-laminating polyester table is built the same way and is listed from a 2.0 mm cable. Also establishes that Turn-Tell labels rotate and slide along cables after installation and are described as ideal for high-density or space-constrained applications, that both wrap materials are for wrap format and are not recommended for flag format, and that the LabelCore fiber system is a 1 inch flexible PVC sleeve for 2 mm and 3 mm simplex cable, used with a 1.00 inch wide label and located on a straight section at least 2 inches from the fiber boot. Character counts derived from these dimensions are this library’s arithmetic at a stated reading distance, with the legend read along the cable as the manufacturer’s installation instruction shows, not a manufacturer claim, and no product performance is asserted. Checked September 16, 2026.

    Source checked: 2026-09-16 · Guides 06, 09, 22

  • S09NVIDIA: Cable staging

    DGX SuperPOD staging guidance, updated November 19, 2025; this worksheet covers identity reconciliation only.

    Source review date not recorded · Guides 10

  • S10Raritan: Advanced engineering

    Manufacturer A/B differentiation example; no universal color code or proof of feed independence.

    Source review date not recorded · Guides 11

  • S11OSHA: 29 CFR 1910.303

    US workplace electrical marking provisions with applicability limits and exceptions; official indexed text checked September 12, 2026.

    Source review date not recorded · Guides 12, 33

  • S12NetBox: Power outlets

    Software record model for outlet identity and relationships; not a prescribed physical label format.

    Source review date not recorded · Guides 13

  • S13OSHA: 29 CFR 1910.145

    US accident-prevention signs and tags; operational identifiers have a different function.

    Source review date not recorded · Guides 15, 31, 33

  • S14OSHA: 29 CFR 1910.333

    US electrical work practices; identification records do not establish an electrically safe work condition.

    Source review date not recorded · Guides 15, 11

  • S15ASME: A13.1 piping identification

    Public scope overview only; no complete color or placement specification was accessed.

    Source checked: 2026-09-12 · Guides 16, 31, 32

  • S16Lenovo: N1380 manifold instructions

    N1380-specific hose and manifold identification context; its colors, routing, and procedures do not apply universally.

    Source review date not recorded · Guides 17, 18

  • S17Vertiv: Liebert XD system design manual

    Liebert XD system design manual SL-16655_REV17_08-24, §3.11, printed pages 24–25 (PDF pages 30–31). Equipment-specific supply/return context; does not prescribe a BMS crosswalk.

    Source checked: 2026-09-12 · Guides 18

  • S18Smithsonian: Design standards, volume 2

    October 2021 owner specification; communications as-built requirements at printed section 27 15 00-4. Not a universal mandate.

    Source checked: 2026-09-12 · Guides 19, 28

  • S19Equinix: Cross-connect demarcations

    Provider-specific demarcation and customer onward-patching context; consult the actual service arrangement.

    Source review date not recorded · Guides 20

  • S20Equinix: Ordering a cross connect with an LOA

    Provider-specific authorization and ordering context. A worksheet neither authorizes nor orders service.

    Source review date not recorded · Guides 20

  • S21Zebra: Supplies material selection guide

    Manufacturer selection factors: printer, resistance, environment, surface and size. No universal material approval. Checked October 2, 2026.

    Source checked: 2026-10-02 · Guides 21, 22

  • S22Zebra: Label and ribbon compatibility

    Manufacturer catalog links label materials, specifications and compatible ribbon formulations. Checked October 2, 2026.

    Source checked: 2026-10-02 · Guides 23

  • S23Zebra: Adjusting print quality

    ZD421/ZD621-specific guidance; settings are not universal.

    Source review date not recorded · Guides 23

  • S24Microsoft: Preserve identifier text in Excel

    Excel text-import and conversion guidance for leading zeros and long identifiers. Batch controls are editorial. Checked October 2, 2026.

    Source checked: 2026-10-02 · Guides 01, 24

  • S25Zebra: Barcode input documentation

    DataWedge 11.1 hardware, decoder, formatting, and quiet-zone context; payload/lookup workflow is editorial.

    Source review date not recorded · Guides 01, 25

  • S26Fluke Networks: Test and labeling documentation

    Published February 16, 2016; supports label/document correspondence, not current-edition or technical acceptance claims.

    Source review date not recorded · Guides 27

  • S27IBM: Server cable management and labeling

    Replacement labels and documented deviations; migration workflow is editorial.

    Source review date not recorded · Guides 29

  • S28NIST: SP 800-88 Revision 2

    September 2025; device/media identity in disposition evidence. No sanitization procedure reproduced.

    Source review date not recorded · Guides 29

  • S29Sunbird: Asset audit application note

    Manufacturer audit-log example; frequency, sampling, and closure workflow here are editorial.

    Source review date not recorded · Guides 30

  • S30TIA-606-E recirculation ballot notice

    TIA's June 19, 2026 recirculation-ballot and public-review notice for TIA-606-E. It establishes the notice's stage and date, not final publication or project adoption.

    Source checked: 2026-09-12 · Guides 01, 06

  • S31TIA-942 official overview

    TIA's official TIA-942 overview lists Revision C, published May 2024, and describes data-center infrastructure scope. It does not supply a local cable-label naming policy.

    Source checked: 2026-09-16 · Guides 01, 33

  • S32NIST: SP 800-53 official control catalog, PE-10

    Official catalog scope for emergency shutoff; local labeling record and change triggers are editorial, with no functional operation procedure.

    Source checked: 2026-09-12 · Guides 12

  • S33NFPA: NFPA 70E standard development and editions

    Publisher standard-development page. Establishes the current edition as 2027, issued April 16, 2026 and effective May 6, 2026, and lists the prior editions. No clause wording, label content list, fixed sticker-expiry interval, PPE advice, or calculated electrical result is reproduced.

    Source checked: 2026-09-16 · Guides 15, 33

  • S34NFPA: Energy Storage Systems fact sheet

    Official February 2024 overview referring to NFPA 855's cited edition. Technology-specific sign wording and applicability remain with the responsible reviewer.

    Source checked: 2026-09-12 · Guides 15

  • S35NetBox Labs: NetBox 4.4 customization

    Versioned export-capability context; proposed output schema and reconciliation controls are editorial.

    Source review date not recorded · Guides 26

  • S36NetBox Labs: NetBox 4.4 export templates

    Object-type-specific export templates and rendering context. Local field names, template revisions, and required-data handling must be mapped to the actual installation.

    Source checked: 2026-09-12 · Guides 01, 26

  • S37UL Solutions: Marking and labeling systems FAQs

    Conditions of acceptability, specified printing combinations, and permanence-only evaluation scope. Checked September 12, 2026.

    Source checked: 2026-09-12 · Guides 21

  • S38UL Solutions: UL 969A certification scope

    March 24, 2021 scope announcement; no universal data-center requirement inferred.

    Source checked: 2026-09-12 · Guides 21, 33

  • S393M: Tamper-indicating material 7935

    Product-specific tamper indication depends on adhesion, surface and print coverage. June 2024 data sheet. Checked October 2, 2026.

    Source checked: 2026-10-02 · Guides 21

  • S40Cloudflare: Dashboard and API outage on April 15, 2020

    Primary operator incident report published April 16, 2020. Scope limited to the reported event; retirement-register lesson is explicitly editorial.

    Source checked: 2026-09-12 · Guides 29

  • S41TIA: ANSI/TIA-607-E publication announcement

    Primary May 17, 2024 publication announcement. Establishes E publication, not project adoption or detailed clause changes. Checked September 12, 2026.

    Source checked: 2026-09-12 · Guides 14

  • S42Zebra: Direct thermal and thermal transfer printing

    Primary manufacturer explanation of the two printing processes and the importance of intended exposure and material/ribbon matching. Used for those limited facts; no model ranking, universal durability claim, or vendor performance figure adopted.

    Source review date not recorded

  • S43Impinj: How RAIN RFID systems work

    Primary technical explanation of passive RAIN tags, readers and software, non-line-of-sight reading, and the relevance of metal and liquids. No advertised range, rate, cost, accuracy or efficiency claim adopted.

    Source review date not recorded

  • S44GS1: RFID read range

    Primary standards-organization support guidance that read range and read volume depend on system and environmental factors, including orientation. Used to support a measured local read-zone pilot, not a guaranteed distance.

    Source review date not recorded

  • S45CommScope: Automated infrastructure management fact file

    Primary manufacturer explanation of one AIM implementation with intelligent panels, controllers and management software. Supports the distinction between connection observations and general inventory; capabilities must be qualified for the selected system.

    Source review date not recorded

  • S46ISO/IEC 18598:2016 publisher record

    Publisher scope record for the AIM requirements/data-exchange standard. Only scope is cited; no full-text clause, conformance judgment or universal interface capability inferred.

    Source review date not recorded

  • S47W3C: Understanding Success Criterion 1.4.1 Use of Color

    Primary web-accessibility guidance. The physical-marker reading check is an explicitly editorial application, not a physical-label compliance claim.

    Source review date not recorded

  • S48UL: Marking and Labeling Systems Program

    Recognition categories and conditions of acceptability depend on the evaluated construction and end-use conditions.

    Source review date not recorded · Guides 33

  • S49Brother: Cut options in iPrint&Label

    Primary manufacturer support page checked for named cut/feed options and model-dependent half-cut availability. No device recommendation, universal margin or cutter setting is adopted.

    Source checked: 2026-09-12 · Guides 24

  • S50NFPA: NFPA 70, National Electrical Code

    Publisher code-development page for the installation code carrying field marking requirements. Establishes the current edition as 2026, with the 2029 revision cycle open. Adoption, edition and local amendments vary by jurisdiction; confirm what your project has adopted rather than assuming the latest edition. Checked September 16, 2026.

    Source checked: 2026-09-16 · Guides 12, 33

  • S51ISO: ISO/IEC 27001 catalog entry

    Publisher catalog entry establishing the standard's identity and current status. Annex A control text is in the purchased document. Checked September 12, 2026.

    Source checked: 2026-09-12 · Guides 30

  • S52PCI Security Standards Council: document library

    Official library for the current PCI DSS version and supporting documents. Cited so readers retrieve the applicable version directly. Checked September 12, 2026.

    Source checked: 2026-09-12 · Guides 30

  • S53AICPA: 2017 Trust Services Criteria with revised points of focus

    Official source for the criteria used in SOC 2 examinations. Referenced for the existence and location of the criteria, not as an assurance opinion. Checked September 12, 2026.

    Source checked: 2026-09-12 · Guides 30

  • S54ASHRAE: Datacom series and data center resources

    Publisher page for the material where data center design conditions are defined. A room design envelope is not a measurement at a label position. Checked September 12, 2026.

    Source checked: 2026-09-12 · Guides 21, 32

  • S55PCI Security Standards Council: glossary of terms, abbreviations, and acronyms

    Publisher glossary establishing the wording for cardholder data environment and segmentation. Cited so local scope vocabulary is settled against the publisher rather than invented on site. Checked September 15, 2026.

    Source checked: 2026-09-15 · Guides 20

  • S56IEEE SA: IEEE 1584-2018 standard page

    Publisher standard page. Establishes IEEE 1584-2018 as an active standard, published November 30, 2018, superseding 1584-2002, with project P1584 authorized for the next revision. Its published scope states the guide does not include recommendations for personal protective equipment. No calculation model or value is reproduced here.

    Source checked: 2026-09-16

  • S57OSHA: 29 CFR 1910.335

    Safeguards for personnel protection, in Subpart S. Cited for two things it settles: providing protective equipment is an employer duty, and safety signs and tags for electrical hazards are reached through 1910.145. Neither is a label content specification.

    Source checked: 2026-09-16

  • S58OSHA: 29 CFR 1910.147

    The control of hazardous energy, lockout and tagout, in Subpart J. Cited to separate a temporary marking on an energy-isolating device from a permanent hazard label on the same enclosure. The two answer to different rules and have different owners.

    Source checked: 2026-09-16

  • S59OSHA: 29 CFR 1910.132

    General requirements for personal protective equipment, in Subpart I. Cited to place the provision and maintenance of protective equipment with the employer, which is why no protective-equipment decision is an output of a labeling review.

    Source checked: 2026-09-16

  • S60ANSI Z535.4-2023, product safety signs and labels

    Publisher listing for the current edition of the product safety label standard, developed by NEMA. Cited to place signal word, color and layout with their own document. No specification, color value or layout rule is reproduced here.

    Source checked: 2026-09-16

  • S61ANSI Z535.2-2023, environmental and facility safety signs

    Publisher listing for the current edition of the facility safety sign standard, developed by NEMA. Cited alongside Z535.4 because a field-applied label on facility equipment can reasonably be issued under either, and a review records which rather than restyling it.

    Source checked: 2026-09-16

  • S62NFPA: NFPA 70B standard development and editions

    Publisher standard-development page for electrical equipment maintenance. Establishes the current edition as 2026, issued November 19, 2025 and effective December 9, 2025, and lists the prior editions. Cited because maintenance is what keeps the condition an analysis described true, not because it specifies label content.

    Source checked: 2026-09-16 · Guides 33

  • S63UL Standards: UL 857, Busways

    Publisher listing for the busway product standard, fourteenth edition published September 10, 2025. Establishes that the scope covers busways and associated fittings including tap boxes, feed boxes and plug-in devices. No requirement, clearance, rating or marking text is reproduced here.

    Source checked: 2026-09-16 · Guides 33

  • S64IEC 81346-1:2022, structuring principles and reference designations

    Publisher listing for edition 2.0, published March 30, 2022. Establishes that the standard sets general principles for structuring systems and for formulating unambiguous reference designations, and that a reference designation acts as a key for retrieving information about an object rather than as a description of it. It does not supply a data center naming syntax, and no requirement text is reproduced here.

    Source checked: 2026-09-16 · Guides 01

  • S65RFC 1178 (FYI 5): Choosing a Name for Your Computer

    D. Libes, Integrated Systems Group, NIST, August 1990. Establishes the long-standing argument that a computer name works best as an arbitrary tag rather than a description, because a name chosen from a machine’s current role does not stay appropriate. It is about host names rather than physical position identifiers, and states no requirement for either.

    Source checked: 2026-09-16 · Guides 01

  • S66RFC 1035: Domain Names — Implementation and Specification

    P. Mockapetris, ISI, November 1987. Establishes the preferred name syntax for domain labels: letters, digits and hyphen, starting with a letter and ending with a letter or digit, a 63-character label limit, and comparison that ignores case. It constrains an identifier only where one is reused as a host name or DNS label, and says nothing about labeling.

    Source checked: 2026-09-16 · Guides 01

  • S67University of New Mexico: Identification for communication systems

    Specification section 27 05 53 dated October 1, 2022. Establishes one institution’s stated intent to create a Class 3 system of administration per ANSI/TIA/EIA 606, its from/to label format, its rule that patch-panel ports carry the served room, outlet and jack position, and a two-line layout forced by the space allocated on the panel. These are that campus’s adopted conventions, not a universal scheme and not standards text. Re-read on September 16, 2026 for its cable clauses: horizontal copper labeled at the telecommunications room end with the room, outlet and jack position of the other end within 6 inches of the termination, and at the outlet end 4 inches from termination with the room, rack, panel and port; coaxial drops within 12 inches at the splitter or tap and 4 inches at the outlet; riser copper and fiber labeled from and to on both ends. Checked September 16, 2026.

    Source checked: 2026-09-16 · Guides 06, 07

  • S68Dartmouth College: Identification for communications systems

    Design and construction guideline section 270553 dated March 22, 2021. Establishes a floor/space/panel/port identifier structure, two accepted strip contents (bare port number with the panel designator marked separately, or a fully qualified per-port identifier) and the batch-printing reason given for the first, and two different numbering orders in use on forty-eight-port panels from different manufacturers. Product behavior is as reported by this specification, not as verified against the manufacturers. Checked September 16, 2026.

    Source checked: 2026-09-16 · Guides 07

  • S69Siemon: MAX patch panels spec sheet

    Manufacturer ordering information for one patch panel family. Establishes that the line includes sixteen, twenty-four, forty-eight and seventy-two port flat panels and twenty-four and forty-eight port angled panels, that forty-eight and seventy-two port versions both occupy two rack-mount spaces, and that label accessories are listed by panel family rather than by port count. Establishes no port numbering order and no dimension for any other manufacturer’s panel. Checked September 16, 2026.

    Source checked: 2026-09-16 · Guides 07

  • S70TIA FOTC: ANSI/TIA-568.3-E scope

    Public scope overview of the optical fiber cabling and components standard. Establishes that the standard specifies performance, transmission, and test and measurement requirements for premises optical fiber cable, connectors, connecting hardware and patch cords, that it defines five polarity methods for array connectivity (A, B, C, U1 and U2), and that only Methods A, B and C support array-to-array signal polarity while all five support duplex configurations. A scope overview rather than a clause-by-clause review; it establishes no test procedure and no conformance outcome. Checked September 16, 2026.

    Source checked: 2026-09-16 · Guides 08

  • S71TIA: ANSI/TIA-568.3-E standard announcement

    Publisher announcement establishing the issue date of ANSI/TIA-568.3-E as September 29, 2022, the responsible group as the TR-42.11 optical systems subcommittee of TR-42, and that the revision incorporates the content of TIA-568.3-D-1 Addendum 1 together with further content from the formulating subcommittee. Establishes the edition and its date; it does not establish which edition any given project has adopted. Checked September 16, 2026.

    Source checked: 2026-09-16 · Guides 08

  • S72Cisco: high-density fiber patch panel, MPO and breakout portfolio

    Manufacturer ordering information dated July 9, 2026 for one high-density panel family. Establishes that the 1RU chassis holds six cassettes and presents 72 duplex LC ports at the front against 18 MPO12 connectors at the rear, with 2RU and 4RU chassis at 144 and 288 duplex LC against 36 and 72 MPO12, and that the panels are 19-inch to 23-inch rack mountable. Establishes no port numbering order, no labeling scheme, no first cassette position, and does not state which positions within each ferrule a cassette uses. Checked September 16, 2026.

    Source checked: 2026-09-16 · Guides 08

  • S73Fluke Networks: fiber polarity methods

    Test-equipment publisher article dated November 12, 2025 describing array polarity in practice. Establishes what distinguishes Methods A, B and C in the field: Method A uses straight-through trunks keyed up at one end and down at the other and moves the crossover into the patch cords, Method B uses reversed trunks keyed up at both ends, and Method C flips each pair within the trunk. Also states that the side of a link cannot reliably be told by looking, so polarity is confirmed by test. Describes practice rather than restating the standard, and closes with the publisher’s own product recommendation, which is not carried here. Checked September 16, 2026.

    Source checked: 2026-09-16 · Guides 08

  • S74US Conec: MTP and MPO connector FAQ

    Manufacturer FAQ establishing that the MTP connector is a high-performance MPO connector with engineered enhancements including removable housings, ferrule float and an improved guide pin design, that it complies with MPO standards, and that it is intermateable with standard MPO connectors. Establishes the brand relationship only. It does not establish fiber position numbering within a ferrule, key orientation, fiber counts per row, or any labeling convention; those were checked for and are not covered. Checked September 16, 2026.

    Source checked: 2026-09-16 · Guides 08

  • S75Siemon: base-8 against base-12 fiber cabling

    Manufacturer comparison dated October 8, 2024. Establishes the two fiber increments as counts on a 24-fiber trunk: base-8 is three MPO connectors of eight fibers each, base-12 is two connectors of twelve, and base-8 uses every fiber in the connector so that one system serves both duplex and parallel optics. It does not state how many duplex ports a cassette presents in either system; the guide derives that by division and says so. Checked September 16, 2026.

    Source checked: 2026-09-16 · Guides 08

  • S76University of Houston: Telecommunication infrastructure standards

    Telecommunication Infrastructure Standards prepared by IT Network Operations, revision 1.17, revision date March 2012. Establishes one campus’s labeling appendix: copper patch cords labeled with the switch and port number on the patch panel end and the patch panel and port number on the switch end; outside plant fiber labeled at each end with the far-end building name and number, mode and strand count, placed between 12 and 36 inches from a conduit and at 200-foot intervals along its run; riser fiber labeled on both ends with the far-end room number, strand count and mode. The document describes itself as a minimum standard and a starting point for collaboration, and names TIA/EIA-568-B and TIA/EIA-606-A, both superseded editions, so it is cited as a dated worked instance rather than as current requirements. Checked September 16, 2026.

    Source checked: 2026-09-16 · Guides 06

  • S77Panduit: Turn-Tell installation instruction

    Installation instruction B20392, revision 3, a one-page illustrated sequence for Turn-Tell labels. Establishes that the adhesive-backed anchor is applied squarely to the cable, the label is wrapped around the cable and over itself, and a light pinch and rotation breaks the perforation and separates the label from the anchor, after which it is free to rotate and slide on the cable. Its illustrations show the printed legend running along the cable. Also states that the anchor can be used as a stop in vertical or high-vibration applications, which is not recommended for laser/inkjet Turn-Tell labels in applications over 50°C. Cited for the direction a legend reads, which decides whether a label’s width or its print-on area height limits the characters on a line; no product performance is asserted. Checked September 16, 2026.

    Source checked: 2026-09-16 · Guides 06

  • S78Panduit: Turn-Tell label drawing C11067

    Customer drawing C11067, revision 0 released August 20, 2013, for part R050X075X1J, titled a laser/inkjet Turn-Tell rotatable self-laminating label. Establishes the label’s geometry on its 8.5 by 11 inch sheet: 0.50 inch wide and 0.75 inch long, with a 0.25 inch print-on area marked as the imprint area on the length and the remainder marked as clear area, listed for 18 to 14 AWG wire and cable. Cited with the installation instruction to fix which dimension of a wrap runs along the cable and which around it. Dimensions only; nothing from the drawing is reproduced and no performance is asserted. Checked September 16, 2026.

    Source checked: 2026-09-16 · Guides 06

Glossary

A/B feed designation
A site's label for power paths. The designation and any color legend must be tied to its documented design.
Acceptance criterion
An observable condition used to decide whether a stated deliverable or work scope has been completed.
Administration class
One of the four levels of telecommunications infrastructure administration described by ANSI/TIA-606-D, from a single equipment room to a multi-site system. The class a site adopts sets how much location context an identifier has to resolve within; it is a project decision, not a property of the hardware.
AIM
Automated infrastructure management. Systems that detect supported physical connectivity events and relate them to managed records; coverage depends on the installed hardware and integration.
Alias
Another name used for the same object, such as the equipment name displayed in an alarm system.
As-built record
A record of the installed arrangement at a stated revision. Compare it with later changes before assuming it remains current.
Asset ID
An organization's identifier for an asset. Keep its relationship to the manufacturer's serial number and current location explicit.
BMS
Building management system. An alarm name may need a cross-reference to the physical equipment identifier.
Breakout
A cable or connection arrangement that separates a higher-count connection into identified legs or ports. Use the actual assembly's mapping.
Cassette
A module that presents duplex ports on its front and array connections at its rear, holding the mapping between the two. The mapping travels with the module rather than with the slot, so a cassette needs an identity of its own once cassettes are ever moved or ordered in more than one fiber increment.
CDU
Coolant distribution unit. Preserve the installed manufacturer's names for its connections and components.
CMDB
Configuration management database. A source of configuration-item records and their relationships.
Color legend
A versioned mapping between a color and its intended meaning in a stated scope. Add readable text so color is not the only identifier.
DCIM
Data center infrastructure management. In these guides, the system used to hold relevant equipment, location, or connection records.
Demarcation
The defined handoff point between parties or systems. Record the physical endpoint and the responsibility boundary.
Direct thermal
Printing on a heat-sensitive medium without a separate transfer ribbon. Suitability depends on the specific material and exposure.
Endpoint
The specific termination of a connection, including enough device, panel, and port context to identify it.
Exception
An unresolved discrepancy or a documented departure requiring an identified owner and disposition.
Factory port reference
The port designation applied by the panel manufacturer and readable on the hardware itself. It anchors a port to a physical position and survives re-cabling and relabeling, but carries no meaning outside its own panel. Distinct from the administration identifier a site assigns and from a connected device’s interface name.
False negative read
A target expected in the observed scope that the reading process fails to detect.
False positive read
A detection interpreted as a target observation when it should not have been included, such as an RFID read from a neighboring rack.
Far-end identifier
The endpoint text printed on one face of a cable label, naming the termination at the other end. The near end is supplied by where the reader is standing rather than by the label.
Fiber increment
The fiber count a trunk or cassette is built in, commonly eight or twelve. It decides how many duplex ports one array connector becomes, and therefore which trunk fiber sits behind a given front port. Two panels of the same model with identical strips can differ in it, and nothing on the panel face records which.
Ghost asset
A discrepancy in which a physical object and its expected inventory state do not agree, such as retired equipment that remains installed. Record the specific discrepancy.
Group clearance
A label-layout parameter for spacing between port groups. Its software definition must be reconciled with the physical measurement.
Half-cut
A cutting operation that leaves the backing connected while separating label material; available behavior depends on the printer and stock.
Identifier
The exact value used to distinguish an object or location within a defined scope.
IDF
Intermediate distribution frame. A secondary termination space serving a floor or zone, connected back to the main distribution frame by backbone cabling.
Jacket color scheme
A local convention assigning meaning to the outer color of a patch cord. It is a site decision, not a wiring standard, and it is unrelated to the T568 pin-to-pair assignments inside the connector.
Label lifecycle cost
The cost of producing, applying, maintaining, replacing, and reconciling labels over a defined period and scope.
Label proof
An actual-size printed sample checked before issuing the full label batch.
LOA
Letter of authorization. In a cross-connect workflow, use the provider's authorized connection details and process.
Local and remote
Labels describing the two ends from a stated viewpoint. Keep that viewpoint consistent in records and examples.
Location ID
An identifier for a place, such as a site, room, rack, or mounting position.
MAC work
Moves, additions, and changes. Here the term refers to infrastructure work, rather than a network interface address.
MDF
Main distribution frame. The primary termination point where external services and backbone cabling meet the premises cabling. Its identifier is usually the root of the space naming scheme.
Namespace
The defined scope in which an identifier is expected to be unique. A shortened value can need additional site or room context.
On-metal RFID tag
A tag designed for operation on specified metallic mounting surfaces. Verify the actual mounting and reading environment in the pilot.
Patch panel
A termination panel whose ports connect cabling. A port number needs its panel context.
PDU
Power distribution unit. Outlet identity is a separate field from the PDU's own identity.
Polarity method
The named transition scheme that keeps transmit aligned to receive across array connectivity. ANSI/TIA-568.3-E defines five: A, B, C, U1 and U2, of which only A, B and C support array-to-array polarity. It is a property of how an assembly was built, not something a label can carry or demonstrate.
Port pitch
Spacing between defined corresponding points on adjacent ports, commonly their centers. State the datum and units used.
Print batch
A controlled group of label outputs tied to a data revision, template, and production setup.
Print-on area
The printed portion of a wrap-around cable label: the label’s width along the cable by a stated height around it. The width sets how many characters fit on a line and the height how many lines; the rest of the label is the clear laminating tail.
PSU
Power supply unit. Use the inlet or PSU marking on the specific device.
Quiet zone
Blank space required around a machine-readable symbol. Use the requirements for the chosen symbol and printing application.
Rack unit / RU / U
The rack-position reference used by the equipment and the site's mounting convention. Record the face and occupied span as well as the position.
Record owner
The person or team responsible for maintaining and resolving a particular record or field.
Recovered diameter
The inside diameter a heat-shrink sleeve reaches after heating. The marked identifier must remain legible at that size, so sleeve choice constrains how much text will fit.
Revision
The version of a policy, drawing, worksheet, or source used for a task.
RFID
Radio-frequency identification. A reader obtains an identifier from a compatible tag; an observation still needs interpretation and association with the correct asset.
Riser
The vertical pathway carrying backbone cabling between floors, and by extension the cabling within it. Riser pathways need identifiers at both ends like any other pathway.
Shrink ratio
The relationship between a heat-shrink sleeve as supplied and after recovery, such as 2:1 or 3:1. It sets the range of diameters one sleeve size can finish over.
T568A and T568B
The two pin-to-pair assignments for eight-position modular connectors. They describe the wiring inside a plug or jack, not the color of a cable jacket, and choosing one of them says nothing about what a cord is used for.
Thermal transfer
Printing that uses heat to transfer a marking material from a ribbon to the selected media. Media, ribbon, and settings must be compatible.
Verification evidence
The observation, document, test-result reference, or approved record used to support a specific conclusion.
Wire marker
A label designed to identify an individual conductor or small-diameter cable, in wrap, flag, sleeve or tie-on form. Often used for the marker itself rather than the printed content.
Wrap format
A label applied by wrapping around a cable, as distinct from a flag, tie-on tag or carrier sleeve. Wrap materials are not necessarily suitable for flag use.